no quality loss with wav?

GoldWave general discussions and community help
jperkins

no quality loss with wav?

Post by jperkins »

I'm new to Goldwave. Looks great!

I'm trying to do very simple tasks. Either merging or splitting .wav files. Technique is simple, but I am curious - am I losing any sound quality in the process, or am I getting "bit-perfect" output files.

Input files are all 44.1k, 16 bit stereo, ripped from CD by Exact Audio Copy.

Files are opened in GW (5.13), 2nd file copy pasted to the end of the 1st open file, and then saved as new file in 44.1k, 16 bit stereo .wav.

When I play the original and new .wav files back through a quality stereo, I would expect identical passages to sound "identical" (bit-perfect copies).

However, I perceive that the original file sounds slightly better (clearer), especially in treble. When doing (loosely controlled) blind A/B listening between the files, both my wife (talented ears) and I seem to be able to pick the orginal file correctly a significant percentage of the time - and express a preference for it.

Are we imagining the difference? Should the copy be "bit-perfect and identical", or would GW potentially be altering the sound quailty with this simple copy and save process of .wav files?

Are there special techniques I should be following to assure bit-perfect output files?

Thanks!
Blandine Catastrophe

Post by Blandine Catastrophe »

There are no losses in such a process as long as you needn't to do anything else that things like copy/cut/paste/edit/merge/split... and as long as you don't resample from a rate to antoher one.

The only problem you could face is a small clic if there is a huge offset center difference between two merged tracks, but something huge enough to provoque that is rather improbable.
Gloup? :-°
jperkins

Post by jperkins »

Thanks! That's good to hear.