Home key doesn't move cursor

GoldWave general discussions and community help
dralex

Home key doesn't move cursor

Post by dralex »

A question from a total beginner with recording software. In the Help manual, it says when playing a sound (in this case a file of a vocal made in Acoustica) that pressing the Home key will return the playback cursor to the start marker. I've tried just Home and shift+Home and Control+Home. Nothing happens. So when I play with the various editing tools and listen to the effect, I can't get back to the start of the recording. Thanks for any help!
DougDbug

Post by DougDbug »

It doesn't move the cursor, it moves the start-marker. When you open a file, the whole file is normally displayed, and selected. The start-marker is at the beginning of the file, and the end-marker is at the end... The Home key won't do anything in that situation.

If you're zoomed-on and the start-marker is somehwere off-screen, Home will move the waveform, so that you can see the start marker.

(I hardly ever use the keyboard, I use the mouse to move the start & end markers.)
dralex

Getting start marker to beginning of file

Post by dralex »

Thanks for your reply. When I listen to a bit of the file to see what my fiddling with noise reduction & smoother has done, how do I get the start marker back to the beginning of the file, ie. how do I listen from the beginning again? I know I must be missing something really obvious here.
DougDbug

Post by DougDbug »

If I want to play the whole file (if the whole file isn't selected), I'll usually just hit the Sel All button first.

By default, the green & yellow "play" buttons will play the selection. (You can right-click these buttons to customize them.)

The start-marker and end-marker appear at the beginning and end of the selected/highlighted section.