Noise reduction to my cassette tapes

GoldWave general discussions and community help
patrik

Noise reduction to my cassette tapes

Post by patrik »

First of all, im a beginner. Now to the topic. I have transfered a casstette tape to my computer, there is a buzz-sound in the background like it usually is on a cassette tape. How is the best way to rid of it? Any tip on how to use noise reduction?
DougDbug

Re: Noise reduction to my cassette tapes

Post by DougDbug »

Noise reduction should work pretty well in this case (low-level, constant background noise). But, sometimes you can get artifacts (side effects) so sometimes you have to play around with the settings to minimize the artifacts, and sometimes you're better-off just leaving things as-is. Make sure to keep a back-up of your original file!

First, open your audio file and select a section of noise only. Click Copy. This will place a "noise fingerprint' into the clipboard.

Select Effect -> Filter -> Noise Reduction -> Use Clipboard -> OK. (There are other presets you can try, but the noiseprint method us usually best.)

You can also try a noise gate. A noise gate completely kills the audio whenever the level falls below a preset threshold (i.e. between songs).

There are noise gate presets under: Compressor/Expander -> Preset -> Noise Gate. You can try the presets and experiment with the settings from there. Again, you may end-up making things worse... It can be distracting if you can hear the noise cutting in-and-out. So, just experiment to see if you can make an improvement.

Good luck, and have fun!
patrik

Post by patrik »

DougDbug wrote:
First, open your audio file and select a section of noise only. Click Copy. This will place a "noise fingerprint' into the clipboard.
After this, should i select all?

And what is FFT size?

Thanks for the help!
DougDbug

Post by DougDbug »

Yes. Select all to apply noise reduction to the entire file. (But, you should start by experimenting on a short section.)