Add noise to one channel in an stereo file

GoldWave general discussions and community help
didudash

Add noise to one channel in an stereo file

Post by didudash »

hi, I'm very new to the goldwave software and to Digital Audio in general. I need to generate an analog stereo signal (for testing) that in one channel has a sine signal and in the other channel has a sine signal also but with noise and/or distortion added. I managed to have a sine signal of f=2kHz in both channels but I don't know how to modify only one channel, and I also dont know how to add noise or distort this signal. Is there a way to saturate the signal in one channel?
I appreciate all the help you can give me,
diana
DewDude420

Re: Add noise to one channel in an stereo file

Post by DewDude420 »

On the tool bar, edit | channel will let you select one channel or the other.

If you want to mix the noise with what's in the channel, you can copy the noise to clipboard and use the mix function. If you want to replace the audio yyou need to select one channel, hit delete, then paste the noise in.
Gord

Post by Gord »

If you want to force the signal to clip on one channel then you can

- select the whole file with [Ctrl-A]

- restrict editing to one channel, left = [Ctrl-Shift-L], or right = [Ctrl-Shift-R], or via the menu with

Edit > Channel > [Left | Right]

- use the Change Volume effect

Effect > Volume > Change Volume...

to increase the volume until the top of the sine wave flattens out.
didudash

Post by didudash »

Thank you so much for the prompt replies. I apologize for not answering before. All you said was very helpful, yet I still have some questions.
I need to create two test signals for a design that I’m programming in a DSP development board.
My design has two entries illustrated in the following picture: