can goldwave maximize the sound using by cue point ?

GoldWave general discussions and community help
Post Reply
Michael REMY
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:07 am
Location: Amiens
Contact:

can goldwave maximize the sound using by cue point ?

Post by Michael REMY »

hi,

i know there is a feature to maximize the volume of the sound.

since many years i used it, i never find the option i need : maximize by cue zone and not from the entire file.

without split the file, is there a way to do that ?

Tristan
Posts: 386
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 8:20 pm
Location: Southeast Michigan

Re: can goldwave maximize the sound using by cue point ?

Post by Tristan »

I've never seen a way.
I don't want to read the manual either, but I'm not the one with the problem.

DougDbug
Posts: 2065
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: can goldwave maximize the sound using by cue point ?

Post by DougDbug »

I don't use cue points, but Maximize (or any other effect) will only be applied to the selected audio. So, if you can use cue points to set the beginning & end of your selection you should be good to go.

Michael REMY
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:07 am
Location: Amiens
Contact:

Re: can goldwave maximize the sound using by cue point ?

Post by Michael REMY »

DougDbug wrote:I don't use cue points, but Maximize (or any other effect) will only be applied to the selected audio. So, if you can use cue points to set the beginning & end of your selection you should be good to go.

i thought maximize wws applying to the whole file ? only on selection.

but, i can't find a way to select a cue zone. (like i give a track number, and it would be selected)

DougDbug
Posts: 2065
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: can goldwave maximize the sound using by cue point ?

Post by DougDbug »

i thought maximize wws applying to the whole file ? only on selection.
You can do an easy experiment... Use the Change Volume effect to reduce the volumeof the entire file by something drastic & obvious like -20dB. Then select/highlight the first 30 seconds or so and Maximize.
but, i can't find a way to select a cue zone. (like i give a track number, and it would be selected)
Sorry, maybe someone else can help. There might be a way with Batch Processing or with Effect Chains, but I don't know...

Gord
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 4:26 pm
Location: Canada

Re: can goldwave maximize the sound using by cue point ?

Post by Gord »

Michael REMY wrote:i can't find a way to select a cue zone.
This is the process that I have used in the past to select between two cue points:

- Place the Start Marker after the end cue point.

- Hit [Shift+Ctrl+J] to "Jump to Previous Cue". That will move the Start Marker to the end cue point.

- Hit [Shift+E] to open the Set Marker dialog. Under "Time based position", copy the "Start" value and paste it into the "Finish" value. That will move the Finish Marker to the end cue point, and the current selection will be zero-length. (You can also drag the Finish Marker to the left until the selection length is zero.)

- Hit [Shift+Ctrl+J] to "Jump to Previous Cue" again. That will move the Start Marker to the beginning cue point.

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 4005
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: can goldwave maximize the sound using by cue point ?

Post by GoldWave Inc. »

The easiest way to select a section of audio between two cue points is to right-click in the cue point slot (below the waveform) and choose Select Between Cues from the menu that appears.

Michael REMY
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:07 am
Location: Amiens
Contact:

Re: can goldwave maximize the sound using by cue point ?

Post by Michael REMY »

GoldWave Inc. wrote:The easiest way to select a section of audio between two cue points is to right-click in the cue point slot (below the waveform) and choose Select Between Cues from the menu that appears.
so good ! thank!

i searched in the menu EDIT/CUE point but this feature wasn't there, it should be there too !

Post Reply