Can the parametric EQ be driven by text file input?

GoldWave general discussions and community help
Post Reply
jazzi
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:36 am

Can the parametric EQ be driven by text file input?

Post by jazzi »

I would like to use the parametric EQ module to adjust a recording based on the calibration file that came with my microphone. The text file is delimited and has two columns of frequency vs amplitude. It looks like this:

Code: Select all

 770.9704,  -1.396398
 822.3684,  -1.424025
 873.7665,  -1.449109
 950.8635,  -1.481993
 1027.961,  -1.511584
 1079.359,   -1.53134
 1156.456,  -1.559005
 1259.252,  -1.595545
Is there a way to automate the use of the parametric EQ module to use this data without me having to manually type in each filter?

Also, how does the "width" slider of the parametric EQ module relate to the quality factor of a filter? I am familiar with having a slider labeled as Q but not one labeled as "width".

Thank you all for your help!
Moonmist
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy

Re: Can the parametric EQ be driven by text file input?

Post by Moonmist »

jazzi wrote:I would like to use the parametric EQ module to adjust a recording based on the calibration file that came with my microphone. The text file is delimited and has two columns of frequency vs amplitude. It looks like this:

Code: Select all

 770.9704,  -1.396398
 822.3684,  -1.424025
 873.7665,  -1.449109
 950.8635,  -1.481993
 1027.961,  -1.511584
 1079.359,   -1.53134
 1156.456,  -1.559005
 1259.252,  -1.595545
Very interesting, those frequencies are not just some random frequencies. They are harmonics (30, 32, 34, 37, 40, 42, 45 and 49) of the fundamental frequency 25.69901333... Hz (963713/37500 Hz).

Hmm, I Wonder how the company that made your microphone came up with such a precise fundamental frequency? :lol: Maybe it's some resonant frequency of some element of the microphone or something? Hmm, interesting. :|

Also I noticed there is no column for bandwidth... so how will you know how wide to make each EQ filter? :?: :?
jazzi wrote:Is there a way to automate the use of the parametric EQ module to use this data without me having to manually type in each filter?
The first time you will have to enter it all manually (just 8 values shouldn't take too long just entering it once), but then just save it as a preset (and name it something you'll recognize, like "microphone calibration") and then you can just use that preset every time you need to apply the calibration! :P
jazzi wrote:Also, how does the "width" slider of the parametric EQ module relate to the quality factor of a filter? I am familiar with having a slider labeled as Q but not one labeled as "width".
Yeah, basically "width" is just the ratio of the "center frequency" and the quality factor (Q). For example a parametric EQ filter with a center frequency of 100 Hz, and a width of 40 Hz would have a Q of 2.5 (100/40 = 2.5). Or the inverse... if you wanted a center frequency of say 150 Hz and wanted a Q of 3.75 you'd do 150/3.75 = 40. So you'd set the width to 40 Hz in that case!
jazzi wrote:Thank you all for your help!
Happy to help! :)
GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 4061
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: Can the parametric EQ be driven by text file input?

Post by GoldWave Inc. »

It may be better to use the Spectrum Filter effect instead. There isn't a way to use the text file directly, but you can enter (copy and paste) the numbers for every new point.
Post Reply