recording several inputs at once

General discussions and questions about MULTIQUENCE
Post Reply
swerve13drums
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:37 am

recording several inputs at once

Post by swerve13drums »

If I was using mulitquence with a PCI card like an MAudio Delta 1010LT, would I be able to select between mulitple "ins" on the card via the DEVICE button on the sound recorder window?

or would I be limited to just selecting among my available cards, one recording section per available soundcard?

OKCBoy
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:42 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: recording several inputs at once

Post by OKCBoy »

swerve13drums wrote:If I was using mulitquence with a PCI card like an MAudio Delta 1010LT, would I be able to select between mulitple "ins" on the card via the DEVICE button on the sound recorder window?

or would I be limited to just selecting among my available cards, one recording section per available soundcard?
You'll have the choice of inputs afforded by the Delta1010. Each one will show up as a unique input source.

swerve13drums
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:37 am

Post by swerve13drums »

at the risk of sounding redundant - and I've got to be as sure as I can be before I invest any $$ -

we're talking about selecting inputs *via the DEVICE button on the sound recorder window* in mulitiquence, right? I'd hate to buy the card, install it, and have multiquence acknowledge all of it's inputs as merely "MAudio Delta 1010LT".

although I only have 1 input on the soundcards I have, the device button interprets them as "Realtek AC97 audio" and "Soundblaster Live! 24-bit"
which makes me wonder if it would interpret ALL cards in this way...allowing you to select only by CARD, regardless of how many inputs on each card.

and have you used this card or one like it in conjunction with multiquence? or seen it used by someone else to record several ins simultaneously?

thanks

OKCBoy
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:42 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Post by OKCBoy »

swerve13drums wrote:have you used this card or one like it in conjunction with multiquence? or seen it used by someone else to record several ins simultaneously?
I can appreciate wanting to be sure.

I've got a system with Multiquence, and another system running 2 Delta1010's (not LT's, but close enough). I'll temporarily install Multiquence on the system with the 1010's to double check. It'll be a week or so because of schedules, but I'll get back with you.

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3989
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: recording several inputs at once

Post by GoldWave Inc. »

I don't think the MAudio Delta 1010LT will be recognized as separate recording devices by Multiquence, so you'll have only one stereo recording device per card.

Chris

swerve13drums
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:37 am

Re: recording several inputs at once

Post by swerve13drums »

[quote="GoldWave Inc."]I don't think the MAudio Delta 1010LT will be recognized as separate recording devices by Multiquence, so you'll have only one stereo recording device per card.

Chris[/quote]

I would suspect you have a pretty good handle on these questions!

I'll consider this the final word on the matter, unless the gentleman from Oklahoma finds otherwise.

looking ahead, have the developers given any thought to updating the next version of Multiquence with the ability to work with something like the MAudio Delta 1010LT? And is there any way to increase the number of acknowledged inputs if you've only got one available PCI slot?

I think it would put this software over the top.

thanks for the help!

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3989
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: recording several inputs at once

Post by GoldWave Inc. »

The next major version of Multiquence will support multichannel sound cards and will record more than two channels on a single multichannel card.

Chris

OKCBoy
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:42 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: recording several inputs at once

Post by OKCBoy »

swerve13drums wrote:I'll consider this the final word on the matter, unless the gentleman from Oklahoma finds otherwise.
Well, it took more than a couple of weeks (sorry), but I've got a nice bit of news...

It does recognize the different inputs on the the Delta1010 (and, I would suppose, on the LT) as unique inputs with one catch: it sees them as unique stereo pairs. That is, you can choose from input devices such as:

Delta1010 1-2
Delta1010 3-4
Delta1010 5-6
Delta1010 7-8
Delta1010 s/pdif
Delta1010 Monitor Mix

You can also output to any of the stereo-paired outputs.

Basically, WindowsXP sees the Delta1010 as not one, but many different devices, so all programs in Windows see it that way.

I hope that helps!

OKCBoy

65CJ5
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 3:08 pm

Re: recording several inputs at once

Post by 65CJ5 »

OKCBoy wrote:It does recognize the different inputs on the the Delta1010 (and, I would suppose, on the LT) as unique inputs with one catch: it sees them as unique stereo pairs...You can also output to any of the stereo-paired outputs.

Basically, WindowsXP sees the Delta1010 as not one, but many different devices, so all programs in Windows see it that way.
Works the same way with my Presonus Firepod as well.

piano nick
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 8:33 pm

Post by piano nick »

GoldWave Inc. wrote:The next major version of Multiquence will support multichannel sound cards and will record more than two channels on a single multichannel card.

Chris


Will the next major version of Multiquence utilize higher bit rates etc? I am using Goldwave to record at 24 bit 48 kbps, and would like to do my mixing in Multiquence.


PN

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3989
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Post by GoldWave Inc. »

Internally Multiquence will use the same floating point format that GoldWave v5 uses, so 24 bit quality will be supported. Sampling rates up to 96000Hz (maybe even 192000Hz) will be supported as well.

Chris

piano nick
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 8:33 pm

Post by piano nick »

GoldWave Inc. wrote:Internally Multiquence will use the same floating point format that GoldWave v5 uses, so 24 bit quality will be supported. Sampling rates up to 96000Hz (maybe even 192000Hz) will be supported as well.

Chris
Great news - I can't wait - any hints as to when?


PN

swerve13drums
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:37 am

Re: recording several inputs at once

Post by swerve13drums »

I have no idea why I waited over 2 years to post a response to this -

but the M-Audio Delta 1010lt works with multiquence/Goldwave/windowsXP EXACTLY as OKCBoy explained above.

Now, I use two 1010lt cards to run 8 simultaneous inputs on 8 separate tracks in multiquence, typically capturing a full band multitrack studio effort as follows:

-kick
-snare
-toms
-hat
-overhead
-bass
-guitar
-alt input

and 8 high-quality output routes for monitor mixes as well!

It's a full studio production suite for $100 worth of software (goldwave/multiquence)
and $400 worth of PCI soundcards (2 of the Delta 1010LT -which are unparalled for a two hundred dollar audio interface!) and a $500 mixing console.

check out what's possible - 25+ songs I've produced posted at my studio's site:
http://www.myspace.com/nobscotstudios

all hail goldwave and multiquence (and OKCBoy who gave me the green light to invest in the unbelievably flexible M-Audio Delta 1010LT)

Keyser
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:32 pm

Re: recording several inputs at once

Post by Keyser »

Is This Something Multiquence Can do?

*Digital* Multichannel Recording ???

I want to backup my 5.1 SACD collection as most of them are out of print - I'd like to remain all digital - I have a modified OPPO player with SPDIF outputs - the player will convert the DSD stream to 24/88.2 PCM and send the 6 streams out digitally..

I need a way to now record the 5.1 digitally - would prefer one single multichannel sound card but would purchase 3 stereo cards if necessary - provided software exists to simultaneously record from 3 stereo soundcards

I dont want to have to muck around trying to sync 3 stereo streams..

any other options such as a physical mixing board?

Ps,

I own the Delta 1010 audio card and was able to do the above however this was all analog - I'm trying to see if this can be done without the D->A, A->D, then back to A..staying all digital

Thanks

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3989
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: recording several inputs at once

Post by GoldWave Inc. »

Multiquence does not support 5.1 audio. When saving a project as audio the program is still limited to mono or stereo files. Multichannel files cannot be saved yet.

Chris

Post Reply