Not quite sure how to even ask this question as I'm new to GW

GoldWave general discussions and community help
New2GW

Not quite sure how to even ask this question as I'm new to GW

Post by New2GW »

In theory it should be easy but I must be doing something wrong.
It's this:

I have an MP3 audio track that I want to copy/layer/merge/unsure of term on top of itself multiple times, it's a problem I've been tasked with. So each time I mix one track onto itself I have to save it as a wav because it farts out while trying to save as MP3, so I save the wav, then open that with GW, make a copy of THAT, open and mix the two together again, ie "original x2" then the next round it is "original x4" then "original x8" etc wash-rinse-repeat. The goal is to have the audio file layered/merged/mixed onto itself 100 times, to test loss of quality etc, but at the 16x mark the sound has already become distorted and volume increased making it difficult to recognize the voice.

So my question is this, is it possible to mix a sound onto itself many, many times yet retain the original, or close to it, quality? I'm not even sure of the vocab for me to ask the question properly.
DougDbug

Re: Not quite sure how to even ask this question as I'm new to GW

Post by DougDbug »

Mixing is done by summation so if you mix a file with itself you are simply doubling the volume. In decibels that's a gain of +6dB.

Digitally, that's done with sample-by-sample addition (i.e 44,100 samples-per-second, etc.) and analog mixers are built around summing amplifiers. Analog mixers have level controls for each input and a master level control so it's more of a weighted and scaled average than simple summation. DAW software has all of those adjustments but GoldWave (and other "simple" audio editors) don't have that much control. With GoldWave you can adjust the level of the mixed-in file and you can adjust the level after mixing.